Baby Talk

That Indescribable Love

When my Son was first born, I had so many doubts and regrets.

I was in pain, my nipples were scabbed and bleeding, and now I had this precious, screaming, crying little lump.

Those first 6 weeks were hell. He slept in 50 minute bursts and had colic due to not being able to process breast milk.

Now he’s 3 months old, and our lives are just filled with joy and sunshine. He is the song in our hearts and I could never, ever give him up. I love him endlessly.

But DH and I still know that we come first. Our relationship has to be strong for him to thrive. If we hate each other and deteriorate, then he will suffer.

DH’s parents had a horrible divorce. Mine never divorced, but I wish they did. They’re happy now, but for years I had to watch my parents just fight and tear each other apart. They absolutely despised each other.

My siblings and I all asked our parents to get divorced. They admitted the only reason they didn’t was there is too much money and assets to divide. They said it was too late and they stayed together for our sake.

I would have been a lot happier if they divorced.

So now, DH and I work hard to commit to each other. While our Son is our precious child that we love and adore, we love and adore each other first. We do whatever we can to make the other feel loved and special, because our Son will eventually leave the house and suddenly DH and I are left alone.

We didn’t want to see our child leave the home and realize we are living with a stranger.

Because of that mindset, our marriage is as strong as ever and our family is happy, safe, and loved.

We are beyond overjoyed with our little nugbug.

Standard

Leave a comment